Presentation

© Cindy Sechet

Boundary Games

by Léa Drouet

 

With Boundary Games Léa Drouet returns to the stage that she transforms into a perimeter of play and experimentation for her 6 performers. Like a social laboratory, the piece tests the process of making and dissolving groups. Infinite (re) arrangements of bodies, sounds and scenographic elements define new social rules as alternatives to the principles of inclusion and exclusion. Boundary Games shatters the “us / them” binary division, to which our relationship with the other is often reduced. It opens a new trading area. How will we circulate in it?

 

Photos

Teaser

 

Dates

 

22 – 26  May 2018,  Théâtre Les  Tanneurs, Brussels, Kunstenfestivaldesarts – PREMIERE

20 – 23  September  2018, Nanterre-Les  Amandiers, France –  FRENCH PREMIERE 

9 & 10  October 2018, Festival  Actoral, Marseille, France

 

Credits

© Cindy Sechet

 

With
Frédéric Bernier, Madeleine Fournier, Catherine Hershey, Simon Loiseau, Marion Menan & Bastien Mignot.

Light & scenography
Gaëtan Rusquet

Sound
Yann Leguay

Dramaturgy
Camille Louis

Assistant director
Laurie Bellanca

Light & technical director
Grégory Rivoux

Hypnosis training  
Marie Lisel

Production Manager
France Morin / AMA

Production Vaisseau

Coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Nanterre-Amandiers, Charleroi danse, Coop asbl
With the help of Actoral – Festival & Bureau d’accompagnement d’artistes

Residencies Kunstencentrum Buda, La Bellone House of performing Art, Montevideo

With the help of Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Service du Théâtre, de Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre/Danse, de Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING and Tax-Shelter of federal Belgian government 

vaisseau-leadrouet.com

Reviews

Excerpt from the unpublished text “Hello to you, oh my brother” by Sylvia Botella, June 2018.

 

“We have to mention the virtuoso Boundary Games, perhaps one of the most subversive pieces performed at Kunstenfestivaldesarts. Dealing with the fragile beat of life, which palpitates in the creases and folds of a blanket, seems to be the only thing of interest to Léa Drouet. She sees her show Boundary Games as a performance but also as a texture associated with a scarcity of means. On the emptied stage, she creates a colourless world seen through the gestures of men and women who crumple and then smooth out blankets, during which throbbing sounds sometimes burst out, disconnected from the surrounding reality. Léa Drouet takes performers to the highest level, making their power of action something unique but very real, provoking an attention, a responsibility that remains fixed in your skull for a long time. And which precipitates our thinking in the face of stupidity. What could be more intelligent than to give spectators the urge to lose themselves in a place of decline, in the breathing of an entire world that is forbidden by numb policy? In Boundary Games, we are raised by the gesture of the other.”

 

Léa Drouet

Léa Drouet

Stage director, Actor

 

Léa Drouet (1982, Villeurbanne, France) is a director and actress. She has a degree in stage direction from the Institut National Supérieur des Arts de la Scène de Bruxelles (I.N.S.A.S.), and has been living and working in Brussels since 2010.

Her work takes different forms and flows between installation, theater and performance. She founded VAISSEAU in 2014, a production house that tries to adapt to already existing styles and formats and to those still to come.

Despite the diversity of styles, a constant interest in certain questions is clearly perceptible. What is a group? What is the aesthetic of these diverse human organizations? How can we address this in the realms of the senses, sounds, bodies and material matter? How to share aesthetic experiences that translate these different relational organizations?

As she is closely involved in the alternative music scene in Brussels, Léa often collaborates with a range of these musicians. She also likes to surround herself with artists who combine several disciplines, such as actors/dancers/performers, visual/writers, etc.

0&, was presented during the edition 2014 of Festival XS in Théâtre Nationale in Brussels and was created in collaboration with Clément Vercelletto. The performance gathered a set of 20 performers for a tape-recorders concert. Several versions of this spatialized chorality was presented later at the invitation of Kunstenfestivaldesarts in Bruxelles-Congrès train station (Derailment, 2015) and in Paris, in Palais de Tokyo, in the frame of the event “Indiscipline” (Tape ensemble, 2016).

“Wo aber Gefahr ist, wächst das Rettende auch” was presented at Les Brigittines skatepark as launching event of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts in 2016. The event was built in collaboration with users of the skatepark around the concept of risk-taking and the accident, and was organised around interviews with three young skaters about their injuries and their relationship to risk, and the installation of a circle of fire in which skaters attempted dangerous figures in public.

Léa was invited in May 2017 by Camille Louis (philosopher and playwright, member of the kompost collective) in Athens as part of the night of aesthetics organized by Goethe Institut and Institut Français. She works on this occasion on a performance installation in the form of a free game called “Squiggle”, a verbal and sculptural conversational situation in the public space.

Her last creation, Boundary Games, was created in May 2018 at Théatre Les Tanneurs as part of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts. This stage form offers the public a spatial and sound experience of composition and decomposition of ensembles by varying situations related to organization or group dynamics.

 

Léa Drouet – Boundary Games

Présentation

 

© Cindy Sechet

Boundary Games

de Léa Drouet

Avec Boundary Games Léa Drouet retourne au plateau qu’elle transforme en périmètre de jeu et d’expérimentation pour ses 6 performeurs. Tel un laboratoire social, la pièce teste les processus de fabrication et de dissolution des groupes. D’infinis (ré)agencements de corps, de sons et d’éléments scénographiques définissent de nouvelles règles sociales comme autant d’alternatives aux seuls principes d’inclusion et d’exclusion. Boundary Games fait voler en éclat la division binaire « nous/eux » auquel se réduit trop souvent notre rapport à l’autre. Elle ouvre un nouvel espace de négociation. Comment y circulerons-nous?

 

Photos

Teaser

 

Dates

 

22 – 26  mai 2018,  Théâtre Les  Tanneurs, Bruxelles, Kunstenfestivaldesarts – PREMIERE

20 – 23  septembre  2018, Nanterre-Les  Amandiers, France –  PREMIERE FRANCAISE

9  et 10  octobre 2018, Festival  Actoral, Marseille, France

 

Crédits

 

© Cindy Sechet

 

Avec
Frédéric Bernier, Madeleine Fournier, Catherine Hershey, Simon Loiseau, Marion Menan et Bastien Mignot. Gaetan Rusquet, Yann Leguay

Lumières, scénographie
Gaetan Rusquet

Travail sonore
Yann Leguay

Dramaturgie
Camille Louis

Assistante à la mise en scène
Laurie Bellanca

Régisseur général
Grégory Rivoux

Training hypnotique
Marie Lisel

Chargée de production
France Morin / AMA

Production Vaisseau

Coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Nanterre-Amandiers, centre dramatique national, Charleroi danse, Coop asbl
Avec le soutien d’Actoral – Festival & Bureau d’accompagnement d’artistes

Accueil en résidence Kunstencentrum BUDA, La Bellone- House of Performing Arts, Montevideo centre d’art

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles-Service du Théâtre, de Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre/Danse, de Shelterprod, Taxshelter.be, ING et du Tax-Shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge

http://vaisseau-leadrouet.com/

photos : Cindy Sechet

Presse

Extrait  du texte  inédit « Salut  à toi ô mon frère »  de Sylvia Botella, juin 2018.

 

« Il  faut évoquer  la pièce virtuose  Boundary Games qui est  peut-être la plus subversive  de toutes les pièces du Kunstenfestivaldesarts.  C’est ce qu’assène le battement fragile de la vie  qui palpite dans les plis et replis d’une couverture  et qui semble le seul objet qui intéresse Léa Drouet.  Elle pense encore son spectacle Boundary Games en grand comme  une performance mais aussi comme une texture associée à une pauvreté  de moyens. Elle dessine sur le plateau évidé, un monde de grisaille vu  à travers les gestes d’hommes et de femmes qui froissent et défroissent des  couvertures, dans lequel éclate parfois un son lancinant, décollé de la réalité environnante.  Léa Drouet porte au plus haut le performeur, faisant de son pouvoir d’action, une chose unique, bien  réelle, qui participe aussi à une attention, une responsabilité qui reste longtemps fixée dans le crâne.  Et précipite notre pensée face à l’idiotie. Quoi de plus intelligent que de donner l’envie au spectateur de  se perdre dans un lieu tout en replis, dans la respiration de tout un monde interdit par une politique engourdie  ? Dans Boundary Games, nous nous élevons dans le geste de l’autre ».

 

Critique dans la revue Mouvement, mai 2018

Léa Drouet

Léa Drouet

Metteure en scène, Comédienne

 

Léa Drouet est une metteur en scène française. Elle est diplômée de l’Institut National Supérieur des Arts de la Scène de Bruxelles (I.N.S.A.S.) en section mise en scène. Elle est installée et travaille à Bruxelles depuis 2010.

Son travail prend différentes formes et circule entre l’installation, le théâtre et la performance. Elle fonde VAISSEAU en 2014, une structure de production qui tente de s’adapter aux différentes propositions, aux différents formats expérimentés et ceux encore à venir.

Malgré la diversité des formes proposées, on perçoit son intérêt constant pour certaines questions. Comment peut-on faire basculer des problématiques des sciences humaines dans le régime du sensible, du sonore, du corporel et de la matière ? Qu’est-ce qu’un groupe? Comment partager des expériences esthétiques qui traduisent différentes organisations relationnelles?

Proche de la scène musicale expérimentale bruxelloise, elle collabore avec divers musiciens Elle s’entoure aussi d’artistes au croisement de plusieurs pratiques : acteurs-danseurs-performeurs-plasticiens-musi- ciens

0&, présenté au Festival XS du Théatre National se crée en collaboration avec Clément Vercelletto, rassemblant un ensemble de 20 performeurs pour un concert de magnétophone cassettes. Plusieurs versions de cette choralité spatialisée seront déclinées par la suite à l’invitation du Kunstenfestivaldesarts dans la Gare de Bruxelles-Congrès (Derailment, 2015) ou au Palais de Tokyo pour l’événement Indiscipline (Tape ensemble, 2016).

« Mais au lieu du péril croit aussi ce qui sauve » est présenté au skatepark des Brigittines dans le cadre du lancement du Kunstenfestival en 2016. L’événement s’est construit en collaboration avec les utilisateurs du skatepark autour de la notion de prise de risque et de l’accident. Il rassemble des entretiens avec trois jeunes skateurs autour de leurs blessures et de leur rapport au risque, et l’installation d’un cercle de feu dans lequel les skateurs tentaient des figures périlleuses en public.

Elle est invitée par Camille Louis (philosophe et dramaturge, membre du collectif kompost) à Athènes dans le cadre de la nuit de l’esthétique organisée par le Goethe Institut et l’Institut Français en mai 2017. Elle travaille à cette occasion sur une installation performance sous forme de jeu libre intitulé « Squiggle », une situation conversationnelle verbale et sculpturale dans l’espace public.

Elle a créé Boundary Games en 2018 au Théatre Les Tanneurs dans le cadre du Kunstenfestivaldesarts. Cette forme scénique proposera au public une expérience spatiale et sonore de composition et de décomposition des ensembles en faisant varier les situations liées aux organisation ou aux dynamiques des groupes.

 

 

Léa Drouet – Boundary Games