Presentation

TAMANEGI

by Ikue Nakagawa

This project starts with a drawing I made when thinking about my father who was struggling with his illness and the family members who stayed with him and surrounded him in the best way possible. TAMANEGI means “onion” in Japanese. At that particular moment, I drew my family as an onion, as if the onion represented the structure of family relationships.

From a common root, a bulb emerges whose layers expand but grow in the same direction. Each layer gradually moves further away from the centre and protects the other layers, down to the very smallest, which renews the heart of the structure. Just like a family where the oldest members protect the youngest. In the same way, the thinning of the onion’s skin as it grows is similar to the way we become weaker and weaker as we age. There is one aspect in particular that interests me a lot and that I can’t translate into English.

“見守る/MIMAMORU” This word is composed of two kanji (ideograms):

 見る (MIRU) = look, and 守る (MAMORU) = protect.

It is a kind of attention/action that is almost intangible and yet quite concrete and real. An attention one can never be sure of having received, and yet constitutive.

It is typically this kind of invisible and inexpressible activity that governs family ties and which I wish to formulate plastically and share choreographically.

As in my previous show, human-sized effigies will interact with my body, only in this case, to construct a representation of family structures and dynamics; structures in which intertwined lives pre-exist and give way to each other, disappear, and leave traces that subsequent generations reappropriate.

 

 

Photos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Ikue Nakagawa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Nine

 

Teaser

Dates

Try out (on invitation)

20th January 2022 – La Raffinerie / Charleroi danse, Brussels (BE)

24th February 2022 – CDCN La Briqueterie, Vitry-sur-Seine (FR)

 

Premiere

24th, 25th, 26th Mars 2022 – Les Brigittines – In Movement Festival, Brussels (BE)

30th November 2022 – Le Vivat – Scène conventionnée d’Armentières (FR)

 

Credits

Concept, choreography, interpretation

Ikue Nakagawa

Dramaturgy assistance

Lorenzo De Angelis

Lights

Octavio Mas

Scenography

Val Macé

Outside view

Masako Hattori 

Music

Patrick Belmont 

Production, Distribution

Arts Management Agency (AMA) – France Morin, Cécile Perrichon and Anna Six

Coproduction

Les Brigittines, Charleroi Danse, C-TAKT, Le Vivat – Scène conventionnée d’Armentières, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse/Occitanie

With the help of

Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Wallonia-Brussels International (WBI)

Support

Le BAMP, La Bellone, Le Vivat – Scène conventionnée d’Armentières, La Briqueterie – CDCN Val-de-Marne, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse/Occitanie, Centre Chorégraphique National de Roubaix / Ballet du Nord, 1x2x3 asbl.

 

Ikue Nakagawa

Born in Japan. Ikue Nakagawa studied at the Osaka University of Arts and continued her training at the Centre de Développement Chorégraphique Toulouse/Midi-Pyrénées. As a dancer, she has worked with choreographers  as Frank Micheletti (Koko Doko, Mondes Monde, Coupures, Archipelago, Tiger Tiger Burning Bright) and Eun Yong Lee, and as an actress, with director Pascal Rambert (To Lose, Toute la vie, Avant que tu reviennes, Libido Sciendi). She also works in collaboration with Lorenzo De Angelis, Jean-Frédéric Chevalier and Brune Campos. At the same time, she has always had some practice in drawing. In 2018 she started her personal work. She created a trio for Indian dancers YUTEN in 2018, NAKAMI in 2021.
Each of her projects has its origins in her drawing work. Each series gives rise to a scenography that she creates to introduce the body and create a piece.

Ikue Nakagawa – TAMANEGI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Présentation

TAMANEGI

de Ikue Nakagawa

 

Ce projet commence par un dessin que j’ai réalisé en pensant à mon père qui luttait contre sa maladie et les membres de ma famille restés autour de lui pour l’entourer et lui donner ce qu’ils avaient de meilleur. TAMANEGI signifie « oignon » en japonais. Dans ce moment particulier, j’ai dessiné ma famille comme un oignon, comme si l’oignon représentait la structure des relations familiales.

De la racine commune émerge une chaire dont les couches s’élargissent mais poussent dans la même direction. Chacune des couches s’éloigne petit à petit du centre et protège toutes les autres, jusqu’à la plus petite qui renouvelle le cœur de la structure. Comme dans une famille où les plus âgés protègent les plus jeunes. De la même façon, la peau de l’oignon qui s’amincit à mesure qu’il grossit est similaire à la façon dont nous devenons de plus en plus faibles à mesure que nous vieillissons.

Il y notamment une notion qui m’intéresse beaucoup et que je ne parviens pas à traduire en français.

« 見守る/MIMAMORU » Ce mot est composé avec deux kanji (idéogramme) :

 見る(MIRU) = regarder, et  守る(MAMORU) = protéger.

C’est une sorte d’attention/action quasiment intangible et pourtant assez concrète, réelle. Une attention que l’on ne saura jamais sûr d’avoir reçu, et qui pourtant est constitutive.

C’est typiquement ce genre d’activité invisible et inexprimable qui régit les liens familiaux et que je souhaite formuler plastiquement et chorégraphiquement pour le partager.

Comme dans mon spectacle précédent, des marionnettes à taille humaine dialogueront avec mon corps, mais ici, pour construire une représentation de structures et de dynamiques familiales ; structures dans lesquelles les vies enchevêtrées se pré-existent et se cèdent la place, disparaissent et laissent des traces que les générations suivantes se ré-approprient.

 

Photos

Teaser

Prochaines dates

Sorties de résidence (sur invitation)

20 janvier 2022 – La Raffinerie / Charleroi danse, Bruxelles (BE)

24 février 2022 – CDCN La Briqueterie, Vitry-sur-Seine (FR)

 

Première

24, 25, 26 mars 2022 – Les Brigittines – In Movement Festival, Bruxelles (BE)

Crédits

Concept, chorégraphie, interprétation

Ikue Nakagawa

Collaboration dramaturgie

Lorenzo De Angelis

Lumière

Octavio Mas

Construction scénographie

Val Macé

Regard extérieur

Masako Hattori 

Musique

Patrick Belmont 

Production, diffusion

Arts Management Agency (AMA) – France Morin, Cécile Perrichon et Anna Six

 

Coproductions

Les Brigittines, Charleroi Danse, C-TAKT, Le Vivat – Scène conventionnée d’Armentières, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse/Occitanie

Avec l’aide de

la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

Soutien

Le BAMP, La Bellone, Le Vivat – Scène conventionnée d’Armentières, La Briqueterie – CDCN Val-de-Marne, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse/Occitanie, Centre Chorégraphique National de Roubaix / Ballet du Nord, 1x2x3 asbl.

Ce projet est en compagnonnage avec Le BAMP.

Ikue Nakagawa

Née au Japon. Elle étudie à l’Osaka University of Arts. Elle poursuit sa formation au Centre de Développement Chorégraphique Toulouse/Midi-Pyrénées. Comme danseuse, elle a travaillé avec les chorégraphes Frank Micheletti (Koko Doko, Mondes Monde, Coupures, Archipelago, Tiger Tiger Burning Bright) et Eun Yong Lee et, comme comédienne, avec le metteur en scène Pascal Rambert (To Lose, Toute la vie, Avant que tu reviennes, Libido Sciendi). Elle travaille aussi en collaboration avec Lorenzo De Angelis, Jean-Frédéric Chevalier, Brune Campos. Parallèlement, elle a toujours eu une certaine pratique du dessin. En 2018 elle a commencé son travail personnel. Elle a créé un trio pour les danseurs indiens YUTEN en 2018, NAKAMI en 2021.
Chacun de ses projets tire son origine de son travail du dessin. Chaque série donne lieu à une scénographie qu’elle réalise pour y introduire le corps et créer une pièce.

Ikue Nakagawa – TAMANEGI

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *