Presentation

 i-clit

Mercedes Dassy

 

A performance-manifesto of the body, in the flesh,  in which the sexual object becomes subject.

A new wave of feminism was born — ultra-connected, ultra-sexualised, and more popular. However, facing the ambivalent power of pop culture, where and how to position oneself in this battle as a young woman? What weapons should be used ? This solo explores the different contemporary feminist trends and movements and their link with pop culture. When can we consider the popularisation of feminism a genuine and accessible social claim rather than a marketing stunt ?

i-clit tracks  these moments of fragility, when one oscillates between new forms of oppressions and genuine empowerment. 

Photos

Teaser

Dates

30 November 2017 //  [try out] // Festival LookIN OUT, Théâtre 140 // BAMP // Brussels, Belgium

 

27 February- 3 March 2018 //[PREMIERE] // Festival Brussels, dance! // Théâtre de la Balsamine // Brussels, Belgium

 

3 September 2018 //Untimely Festival, Téhéran, Iran

 

7 December 2018 // Fabuleus, Leuven, Belgium

 

23 February 2019 // Centre Culturel Jacques Franck, Brussels, Belgium

 

20-22 March 2019 // XX Time // La Balsamine, Brussels, Belgium

 

Credits

Concept, choreography and Dance

Mercedes Dassy

Dramaturgy outside eye

Sabine Cmelniski

Sound

Clément Braive, Mercedes Dassy

Light

Caroline Mathieu

Costumes and scenography

Justine Denos, Mercedes Dassy

Administration

Mercedes Dassy & Hotenslig asbl

COPRODUCTION

Théâtre de la Balsamine, Charleroi danse

Support

B.A.M.P., Théâtre Océan Nord, L’Escaut, Project(ion) x Room, Friends with Benefits

Reviews

Extracts

i-clit by Mercedes  Dassy: happy in her  skin with this joyful,  muscular, choreographed feminism.  The intelligence of  the body. (…)I  allow  myself to  be carried away  by the force of a masterful  body that plays on the essential: affirming  what she is, a young woman who calmly assumes her  double nature, masculine and feminine, power and tenderness  (in which order?). She proposes a kind of self-portrait, a danced  selfie of her spiritual states and her reflections on mastering her  body. She already has a personal grammar of movements, regardless of the  music and perfectly masters the game of quirky erotic seduction… As such,  she forces the spectator to see her not as an object but as a subject that offers poses  and a representation of her imagination, without ever descending into pornography or Femen-style radical  provocation.(…) A beautiful debate that followed the performance confirmed the smiling and benevolent lucidity  of this 27-year-old performer. One mature lady in the audience remarked: “It has been a long time since a performance  moved me so much.” (…)

Christian Jade – RTBF

 

(…) The show, by linking references to these contradictions, avoids all the pitfalls of moralism or guilt. Pop culture can liberate us as much as it can lock us into images and codes from a patriarchal and capitalist society; the only thing to do is probably to subvert these images to question them, and Mercedes Dassy does it with brio. (…)

Lisa Cognaux – Karoo.be

 

(…) Mercedes  Dassy tackles with  powerful physical and  visual commitment the invasion of images  and discourse. The body in states of consciousness, confidence  and constraint. The body present, represented, confiscated and claimed. The reign  of paradoxical injunction. Such a performance, however sparse it may be, cannot be  created in a few months. The creative process of i-clit started well before the Weinstein  affair broke out. But the consequences, including the important #MeToo wave, only accentuate its  resonance. (…) Feminist waves follow one another, overlap and sometimes clash. The feminism of today, protean,  hypersexual, in perpetual mutation, cannot ignore the bodies carrying it, any more than the questions raised by  these incarnations. Without any judgement but with a critical eye, Mercedes Dassy poses as a participative observer  in a larger population of women, reclaiming her body and her identity. i-clit, she  says, is  a manifesto  of the body, of  the flesh, of the  female sex itself, not  for anything else. All  in all, a  daring attempt  to demystify the  female sex coupled  with a frank denunciation  of censure and manipulation. (…)

Marie Baudet – La Libre

Mercedes Dassy

 

Mercedes Dassy

Mercedes Dassy (1990, Brussels) is a dancer, active in the fields of dance, theater, performance and video. In 2009, she enters the S.E.A.D. Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance and joins a Summer Program in Tisch School of Art/Dance Department – New York University. Back to Brussels in 2012, she works with Voetvolk/Lisbeth Gruwez (AH/HA), Compagnie3637 (Eldorado, L’Enfant qui), Matej Kejzar (raive), Cie PHOS/PHOR (La compatibilité du caméléon), Lucile Charnier (L’Appel du Mutant), Valéry Carnoy (Projet Genêts), MUGWUMP, Justine Denos (APOIL). Since 2013, she also started her own work with PAUSE, TWYXX (with Tom Adjibi) and her solo i-clit presented at La Balsamine in the frame of Brussels, dance ! festival in February 2018 and supported by the Ministry of Culture, Dance department.

 

http://cargocollective.com/mercedesdassy/

Mercedes Dassy – i-clit

Présentation

 i-clit

de Mercedes Dassy

 

i-clit, un spectacle manifeste du corps, de la chair et où l’objet sexuel devient sujet. 

Une nouvelle vague du féminisme est née – ultra-connectée, ultra-sexuée et plus populaire. Mais face au pouvoir ambivalent de la pop culture, où et comment se placer dans ce combat en tant que jeune femme ? Quelles armes utiliser ?Ce solo explore les différents courants féministes contemporains et leur lien avec la culture pop. La popularisation du féminisme est-elle une réelle prise de pouvoir ou une auto-contradiction profonde? Une vraie revendication ou une récupération marketing?
i-clit traque ces moments de fragilité, où l’on oscille entre nouvelles formes d’oppression et affranchissement.

La pièce a reçu le prix Jo Dekmine 2018 du Théâtre des Doms, elle a été également nominée aux Prix de la Critique des journalistes wallonie-bruxelles dans la catégorie meilleur spectacle de danse.


Photos

Teaser

Dates

 
30 novembre 2017 //  [étape de travail] // Festival LookIN OUT, Théâtre 140 // BAMP // Bruxelles, Belgique
 
27 février – 3 mars 2018 //[première] // Festival Brussels, dance! // Théâtre de la Balsamine // Bruxelles, Belgique
 
3 septembre 2018 //Untimely Festival, Téhéran, Iran
 
7 décembre 2018 // Fabuleus, Leuven, Belgique
 
6 février 2019 // Propulses, Bruxelles, Belgique
 
14 février 2019 // CDCN Les Hivernales en co-réalisation avec  le Théâtre des Doms, France
 
22 février 2019 // Centre Culturel Jacques Franck // Bruxelles, Belgique
 
20-22 mars 2019 // XX Time // La Balsamine // Bruxelles, Belgique
 
12, 13, 14 avril 2019 // Festival Do Disturb //  Palais de Tokyo // Paris, France 
 
8 juin 2019 // Festival Strangelove // Anvers, Belgique
 
16 novembre 2019 // Théâtre de l’Ancre // Charleroi, Belgique
 
13  février 2020 // C’est Central // La Louvière, Belgique (TBC)
 
18-21 février 2020 // MARS-Mons Arts de la Scène // Mons, Belgique

 

Crédits

Concept, chorégraphie et interprétation

Mercedes Dassy

Dramaturgie, regard extérieur

Sabine Cmelniski

Création sonore

Clément Braive, Mercedes Dassy

Création lumière

Caroline Mathieu

Costumes,accessoires et scénographie

Justine Denos, Mercedes Dassy

 

Diffusion

France Morin et Jill De Muelenaere / Arts Management Agency

Production déléguée

Théâtre La Balsamine

Coproduction

La Balsamine, Charleroi danse – Centre chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

Soutien

Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles -Service de la Danse ∙ SACD pour la création sonore ∙ Project(ion) Room ∙ B.A.M.P. ∙Théâtre Océan Nord ∙ Friends with Benefits

 

Presse

Extraits

i-clit de Mercedes Dassy: un féminisme joyeux, musclé, chorégraphié, bien dans sa peau. L’intelligence du corps.(…) Je me suis laissé embarquer par la force d’un corps très maître(sse) de lui/elle, jouant très bien sur l’essentiel : affirmer ce qu’elle est, une jeunesse qui assume calmement sa double nature, masculine et féminine, force et tendresse (dans quel ordre ?). Et nous propose une sorte d’autoportrait, un selfie dansé de ses états d’âme et de sa réflexion sur la maîtrise de son corps. Elle a déjà une  » grammaire  » personnelle de ses mouvements, quelle que soit la musique et maîtrise parfaitement le jeu de la séduction érotique… décalée. Elle oblige donc le spectateur à la voir non comme un  » objet  » mais un  » sujet  » qui  » offre » des poses et une mise en scène de son imaginaire, sans tomber ni dans la pornographie ni dans la provocation radicale de style Femen.(…) Un beau débat a suivi la performance confirmant la lucidité souriante et bienveillante de l’interprète de 27 ans. Une dame mûre, dans le public, a témoigné :  » il y a longtemps qu’un spectacle ne m’avait autant ému « . (…)

Christian Jade – RTBF

 

(…)Le spectacle, en enchaînant les références à ces contradictions, évite tous les écueils du moralisme ou de la culpabilisation. La pop-culture peut nous libérer autant qu’elle peut nous enfermer dans des images et des codes issus d’une société patriarcale et capitaliste ; la seule chose à faire est sans doute de subvertir ces images pour les questionner, et Mercedes Dassy le fait avec brio. (…)

Lisa Cognaux – Karoo.be

 

(…) Mercedes Dassy aborde en plusieurs tableaux – et avec un puissant engagement tant physique que plastique – l’invasion des images et des discours. Le corps conscient, confiant ou contraint. Le corps présent, représenté, confisqué, revendiqué. Le règne de l’injonction paradoxale. Un tel spectacle, tout dépouillé qu’il soit, ne se monte pas en quelques mois. Le processus de création d' »i-clit » a commencé bien avant que n’éclate l’affaire Weinstein. Mais ses conséquences dont l’importante vague #MeToo en accentuent les résonances. (…) Les vagues féministes se succèdent, se superposent, s’entrechoquent parfois. Le féminisme d’aujourd’hui, protéiforme, hypersexué, voire en perpétuelle mutation, ne peut faire abstraction des corps qui le portent, pas plus que des interrogations que soulèvent ces incarnations. C’est sans jugement mais avec un regard critique que Mercedes Dassy se pose, dans le grand peuple des femmes, en observatrice participante de la manière de se réapproprier son corps et son identité. « I-clit », dit-elle, « est un manifeste du corps, de la chair et du sexe féminin en soi, non pour servir à autre chose ». En somme, une audacieuse tentative de démystification du sexe féminin doublée d’une franche dénonciation de toute censure et instrumentalisation (…)

Marie Baudet – La Libre

Mercedes Dassy

 

Mercedes Dassy

Née en 1990 à Bruxelles, Mercedes Dassy commence à danser enfant avec la danse africaine et le ballet classique. Elle combine l’école et ses cours de danse jusqu’à la fin de ses études secondaires, tout en tournant avec le spectacle Indian Curry (coproduction BOZAR/fAbuleus). En 2009, elle intègre la Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (S.E.A.D.) pour y étudier la danse contemporaine, en terminant par le Summer Program de la Tisch School of Art/Dance Department – New York University. De retour à Bruxelles depuis 2012, Mercedes Dassy est active dans les domaines de la danse, du théâtre, de la performance et de la vidéo. Elle travaille avec Voetvolk/Lisbeth Gruwez (AH/HA), Compagnie3637 (Eldorado, humanimal), Oriane Varak/ notch company (As a Mother of Fact), Cie PHOS/PHOR (La compatibilité du caméléon), Lucile Charnier (L’Appel du Mutant), MUGWUMP (video clips), etc. Depuis 2013, elle a également entamé son propre travail avec Pause, TWYXX (avec Tom Adjibi) et son solo i-clit présenté à La Balsamine (Bruxelles) dans le cadre du festival «Brussels, dance !» en février 2018 (coproductions La Balsamine et Charleroi danse, Centre chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles).

 

http://cargocollective.com/mercedesdassy/

Mercedes Dassy – i-clit